Portrait Session: Samantha Lynn

I must admit that I am pretty excited to finally share these with you. To me these photos have a deeper meaning. Me taking action and doing what I love, just for fun. So without further ado here are my favorite digital images that I took of Sam:

samflowers_038

samflowers_056_combo

samflowers_183_combo

samflowers_248_celeste

samflowers_274_celeste

samflowers_320_1

samflowers_326_1

I really didn’t want to overwhelm any readers with too many images, so here is a link to all of them on my website.

A few things I’m excited about are:

1- I took charge as a director:  Usually I take pictures of myself.  It’s something that I’m comfortable doing. In a way it’s easy model and photographer are sharing a brain!  On the other hand there are somethings that I just cannot do on my own.  For example these last two pictures that were taken from above. Getting a tripod in that position is possible, but I definitely don’t have one good enough to do so.  Also the expressions that I get when I use a friend as a model are priceless!  Also I asked Sam to do something pretty weird (“umm can you lay down on the grass with daisies??”) and she was surprisingly up for it.

2- I edited these quickly and made the decision to turn some black and white: This is big because usually I take forever to edit photos and have never turned something taken in color into B&W.  I’m usually a purist when it comes to that.  If it was take in color then it’s meant to be in color and vice-versa.  In this case it was an accident!  Long story short I really liked the look in B&W because it highlights the movement and lines in those images.  The color isn’t there to distract from the texture.

Well there you have it folks, my very first just for fun portrait session!  Please let me know what you think and what is your favorite image (especially if it didn’t make it to this blog post).

-MEO

Leave a Reply

