Argus C3 Match-Matic

I’ve been wanting to blog about all of the vintage cameras that I own for a while now, but have been waiting for the stars to align… or something along those lines.  I’ve decided that they have been aligned all along.

_DSC0818_1

The Argus C3 Match-Matic is a dual-colored  rangefinder that was produced in the late 50’s-60’s.  You can read more about it here if you are interested.  I’m not going to spit the wikipedia page right back at you.  But I am going to highlight my favorite bits:

–Tony Vaccaro used an Argus C2 during WWII to take some beautiful photographs.  He developed film at night in peoples helmets, amazing.  If he could do it in a helmet then surely I can develop film in my own home.

–They used this camera as a prop in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Here are my favorite photos that I’ve taken with it, so far:

argusmatch004copy argusmatch010copy argusmatch011copy argusmatch016copy argusmatch021copy argusmatch005

(All shot on Kodak Tri-X 400)

I took these last summer, before things with the house really started to take off.  Once we moved all of my cameras were packed away and I didn’t see them or have time for them.  I’m finally ready to start using them!

I love the double exposures, the shot of the trees is really inspiring to me and I’m going to work more with that.  I’m definitely amazed by the clarity of these images, I’ve only used a rangefinder one other time and I don’t recall the images coming out this well.

These were all shot with a fairly high shutter speed.  I’ve recently taken a roll of color film (200speed) with the camera, and when shooting indoors needed a much lower shutter, it seems that the shutter is sticking on the lower speeds.  I’m going to try again with another roll since I’ve not properly cleaned the camera.  I’ll have those color images sometime next month once I take them to get developed.

The most frustrating/interesting thing that I found with this camera is the simplification of shutter speeds and f-stops.  I had to look online to see what they co-relate to in order to set the camera properly!

Here’s to continuing to work!

2 thoughts on “Argus C3 Match-Matic

Leave a Reply

