Self Portrait Challenge

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

I’ve challenged myself to take 30 self-portraits.  I don’t necessary have a time limit, nor am I doing them everyday.  But I am doing them and that is what counts.  Right now this is simply a way for me to be creative, and inspire myself.  I  know that I am always talking about “inspiration” it’s even started to irk me personally.  I’ve been much too focused on finding ways to do things correctly instead of just jumping in.

Here are 3 that I have taken so far.

 

 

 

_DSC0090_1

This first one is something I took just after I got out of the shower.  I wanted to see what it would look like if I could “paint” with my hair using long exposure.  It didn’t necessarily come out looking as amazing as I’d hoped, when does it ever ?  I would really like to continue playing with long exposures, possibly with the blow-dryer as a tool.  Imagine the possibilities!  I also had to play a bit with the white balance here.  Those green walls weren’t helping out my skin tone at all.  I think I did a decent job and really made my purple robe POP.

_DSC0128_1

Me on an ash stump. I don’t have much to say about this one except for that this entire landscape is currently buried in about 3 feet of snow. No joke. I thought it would be fun to go out in the golden hour and snap some photos. This is the result.

_DSC0106_1

The whole time I was shooting this last image I was thinking of Julia Margaret Cameron. Not that it’s weird since I’m usually thinking about some photographer. She’s an idol that’s for sure.

I’ve slowed down a bit because of the snow on hand, but if it ever stops snowing I am planning on trekking out for some pics.

Until next time
-MEO

Leave a Reply

